8-17-2013 Defying Gravity or I Dreamed A Dream

I haven’t been to an audition in over a year and even more so for something a little more professional, so I’m doing a little panic dance.

My boyfriend has consistently told me that I need to get back into theatre because it was the one thing that really helped with my anxiety and “you’re so good at singing and acting, you should just try it again.”

Today I was looking for auditions, even though the season’s pretty much already been planned but there’s ONE play in my area that’s holding auditions for Dirty Rotten Scoundrels and I’m going to do it!

I have until October to get everything done; get my health in order and hopefully get a regular ol’ 9-5 so I can actually devote time to my audition piece and running and my E.P. which is taking way too long.

Tonight we went to the bar and saw a cover band playing, which was enough motivation to have me say: Ok, I’m texting Chris and letting him know that we need to get together and rehearse. The thing that I didn’t like about the band was the singer had no passion. Amazing voice but I wasn’t feeling it.

Another part was when my boyfriend went up to the bartender and asked how much they usually get paid. Not the best question to open with but she chuckled with a straight face and said: None of your business. Ok, understandable. Then he was trying to ask her a question and she said, “What do you want, dude?” 

While he continued politely to ask her what it took to get on that stage and she told him, I don’t want to play in a place where people are that rude. Dancing drunks I could definitely deal with, but sober jerks. There’s no excuse for that.

This is getting a tad off topic so I’ll end with: Yay I’m excited for my audition! Should I sing Wicked’s “Defying Gravity” or “I Dreamed A Dream” from Les Mis? Or perhaps something else in that vocal range? Input is greatly appreciated!

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

