8-16-2013 Why I Like Night Runs

Some people like to run early in the morning to get their hearts pumping and their organs going for the rest of the day, some people like to run in the middle of the day when the sun is up and the birds are flying, squirrels are running alongside.

Then there are people like me who are essentially vampires. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the sun every now and again, but it’s the people I’m not fond of. I would rather run in the dead of night when everyone’s tucked in bed dreaming of lemon drops and rainbows. I guess it helps having a schedule where I work from 7pm-4am, but even if I didn’t I’d still prefer night runs.

The only time I think I’d want to run in the morning or midday is in the winter, because it’s cold and where I’m from people would rather get on a treadmill than run in the rain. But come on, how can you not love the feel of rain cutting cool scrapes on your cheeks and limbs to cool you off while your body is burning from the best cardio workout ever.

Tonight was a night run and instead of just going until I got tired, resting, then picking up again… I kept it a bit more scheduled and disciplined, I guess. I started out at a brisk walk for two minutes, then ran for a minute, then walked for a minute and did that for a good 20 minutes. It felt amazing!

Not only were there less people but it’s a bit scary out at night running on the trail, because at any given moment a serial killer or deranged animal could jump out at me and try to attack me, in which case I’d have to set my gears in hyperdrive or spray the hell out of them with my handy-dandy pepper spray (courtesy of my boyfriend- aww what a sweetheart).

love when I’m in a situation where I could get frightened. It gets me pumped and I guess I just love the adrenaline rush. Maybe that’s why I love Halloween so much! And nightmares. Nightmares are awesome!

Anyway, I’ve got this runner’s high going and I think I’ll waste it on my zombie story. Mmmm, braaaains!

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

