8-15-2013 Dealing With Douche Lords

We’ve all come across one sometime or other. You know, those self-righteous punks who seem to think that since they workout every day, drink protein shakes as though it’s water, and look in every reflective surface they pass to flex their muscles and take a picture with the tag #flexinfridays, they must know everything? Those guys?

Right. Well, yesterday I was walking to the library and for the first time in awhile I wore a shirt that wasn’t over-sized or long sleeved. You can see it here. It was way out of my comfort zone, because I pretty much dress like a tomboy every day.

As I walk past this group of sweaty, shirtless guys, one of them looks up at me from his phone and says, and I quote, “Get on the treadmill, bitch.”

Now, from that picture, you can see that I am not super skinny nor am I overweight. From reading this blog regularly, you also know that:

  • I workout almost daily
  • I eat relatively healthy
  • I have a gym membership, so if I wanted I could in fact get on a treadmill

To have a stranger who doesn’t know my health routine or habits tell me “Get on a treadmill, bitch” is not only rude, but presumptuous as hell. To make an assumption based on looks alone makes you look judgmental, tactless, and just plain stupid.

I happened to have been walking through the park to the library, because I pretty much walk everywhere unless it’s over 3 miles, in which case I’d take public transport, simply because I don’t have a bicycle. I walk roughly a mile and a half every day to and from work. I run 3-4 times a week for between 20-30 minutes. I do strength training at the gym.

To have someone who doesn’t know me or my habits say that honestly made me want to throw down. I’ve been in my fair share of fights, usually because when I drank it was harder to control my anger. But as sober as I was, nothing can piss me off more than someone passing judgment in the most gauche manner possible.

To The D’Roid, that is to say Steroid-pumped Douchebag,

You do not know me. You cannot pretend to know everything about health and fitness based on your own habits. Take into account every body is different. I could quickly assume by your cell phone in one hand and keys in another that you drove to the park where you got your workout on. Chances are the only reason you chose that place to workout at is because you wanted to be looked at, which would make you the most vain drone I’ve ever come across. At least I don’t have to feel the approval of others watching me to get a good workout.

Screw you, and the horse you rode in on.

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

