8-11-2013 New Plans Set In Motion

I’ve had enough of the place I’m working at. No one wants to go straight to me about any problems and instead will complain and talk about me behind my back so I’ve finally had enough. I’m going to give it my all the next few weeks and then hopefully by then I’ll have found something better.

I’m looking for either an editor’s or journalist job, or something entry level like a receptionist, data entry, etc. I’d rather go into organizing than using my body weight every day and feeling so overwhelmed with stress because I’m not sure if the next person to come on shift will try to screw me over.

My boyfriend is going to be helping me with my resume so I can look good to office type jobs. He says I would stand out with my personality alone, but office folk always seem to be more conservative. I feel like I would have to fake who I am in order to get the job, and then continue to fake it in order to keep it.

That’s the sacrifice I’m willing to make in order to surround myself in a more professional atmosphere. I don’t want to feel like I’m going back to high school every day. I dreaded that. I also would rather work 5 regular days a week, instead of 6-7 weird times.

This next weekend I’m going to Salvation Army with my boyfriend to get some more professional clothes, you know, for an office type atmosphere. Then we’ll see how good I can look on paper. PLUS, hopefully I’ll have less negative posts about work. You know what they say? You can’t control the people around you, but you can always change the environment.

UPDATE ON HEALTH: My back was bothering me yesterday when I was running. Every time I breathed in, it felt as though someone was punching me in the back. I guess another perk of finding a better job would be not having to be hunched over a bench cutting dough for 2+ hours every day.

Last night after I got off work, my boyfriend picked my coworker and I up so we could drive him home and talk about this cover band all three of us are starting. I started coughing hard and when we got to Jerk in the Box (or Gag in a Bag, as my boyfriend’s dad likes to call it), I threw up a little bit. I started to get one of those pre-fever headaches.

Around 4:30am, my boyfriend came back from his run and cuddled me, saying: “Ohmygawd, you’re hot!” I sleepily replied: “Thank you.” “No, babe, you’re burning up. I think you have a fever.” He got up, pulling the blankets with him and the air felt ice cold, but for him it was already warm in the apartment. He came back with artic water and ibuprofen, so I took it and lay my head down again and he cuddled me the rest of the night, worried that I was gonna get a lot worse. “It’s just a throat infection, probably.” I tried to reassure him.

UPDATE ON RIGHT NOW: My boyfriend is at the Outside Lands concert in San Francisco right now and he just texted me:

Image

I’ve already got a long list of things to cover, mostly from the 90s, but I do like this Emeli Sande. All right, 3 hours until work, so I need to get on the pilates and workout the butt.

 

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

