8-9-2013 Sluggin’ it

Guess what happens when my family gets together, whether it’s to mourn or celebrate the birth of a new guy? I’ll give you one clue. We are your stereotypical Irish family…

Yes, I had a lot of ale and whiskey last night. While my boyfriend wasn’t entirely pleased, he said I was much more calm this time around. But come on, I wasn’t going to just be sober on a day of celebrations like yesterday!

So I got out of work at about 12:40pm, headed straight to the apartment, showered and looked up directions to where my cousin was staying. I hopped on the bus, rode it for about an hour and texted my cousin that I was a couple minutes away.

Before I go any further, I have to say that my cousin and I didn’t get to see a whole lot of each other growing up. We would see each other once a year when we were younger but during our teen years we never had the chance to communicate. But then when I was about 19, he got ahold of my facebook and we talked every day nonstop. He was in the military at that point and I lived with my psychotic aunt, so the subjects which we got to discuss were limited.

Eventually when I was in a safer environment, I didn’t censor myself anymore, so I told him everything and vice versa. He’s the most supportive person in my life and will back me up with anything. So when this certain special arrival came into this world, I had to see him as soon as possible!

Yesterday was that time and we had a blast. I met other people in our family who were just like me and already I felt like my family had expanded. My boyfriend got to meet my cousin and just like I thought, my cousin intimidated him a little. It’s kinda sweet to know how protective he is.

“So what do you do, man?” 
“I’m an engineer.”
“Oh yeah, me too. What kind of engineer are you?”
“Computers mostly, you?”
“Weapons.”
“Oh.”

As soon as we got back from the amazing family fun, I put on Clerks 2 and watched about 15 minutes with my boyfriend before crashing. I didn’t wake up for a good 14-16 hours. I guess my body hasn’t been appreciating the lack of sleep lately.

Today I really don’t feel like doing Pilates or anything besides vegging out, but I found that even just putting on my sports bra has given me a little bit of a push, so today is going to be a stretching day with a little bit of abs and arms.

Running is a must tonight. Who’s with me?

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

