I’ve Got the Moves Like Jäger

Actually, disclaimer: I don’t really drink Jäger… My drink of choice is usually whiskey, but since being on the whole No Hard Liquor For A Month thing, I’ve drank nothing but beer, wine and more recently, Mike’s Hard Lemonade! I’ve got a tall can between my legs while I type this to be perfectly honest.

Another disclaimer: If it wasn’t already obvious, I’m actually just a chick who made a blog to document her weight loss bet that she made with her boyfriend and also happened. I’m not advocating alcoholism or glorifying it in anyway. I’m literally just writing whatever happens.

Anyways, I mentioned that yesterday I went through withdrawals. Well, today my boyfriend and I were talking about my problem and how it’s going to end up being a defining factor in whether or not this relationship will progress or not.

I’ve wanted to go without drinking every day for awhile. I’ve never had a problem going a week or a month or 6 months without alcohol. But it’s gotten pretty terrible. When I moved back here (Cali) I started partying a lot and then realized I was blacking out frequently. Lately I’ve had alcohol every single day.

After the conversation with my boyfriend, in which I had reminded him that we agreed I’d quit for awhile a week before his visitors came, I did a little research on withdrawal symptoms and what to expect.

I’ve seen Trainspotting and while heroin and alcohol are very different (albeit frequently abused) substances, they’re both extreme and have potentially dangerous side effects to quitting. I only went roughly 36 hours, but I’m worried about the other 6 days before his guest comes.

Symptoms I could possibly expect range from the shakes and nausea to seizures and hallucinations. I think it’s understandable why I’m afraid to straight up quit completely. The withdrawal from alcoholism can actually kill you. That’s right, it’s fatal. I’m not saying continuously drinking is going to help me any, but I can’t afford a proper doctor.

I took a test online saying I scored 45% which means my symptoms will be mild to moderate… Because online scores are always super accurate. Anyways, I’m worried and stuff, but I’ll deal with it like a lady ought to. Good night!

About vagabondrunning

I am a 23 year old female alcoholic attempting to get healthy for the millionth time. I'm a baker at a donut shop, so there's temptation everywhere. I'm also a writer and I move a lot. I'm just a whole lot of insane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Got the Moves Like Jäger

  1. Pingback: 8-7-2013 Workouts Of The Day | Quidditch Trainer

Leave a Reply

